The German Girl: A Novel

Teste agora Após 7 dias, será cobrado valor integral. Cancele quando quiser.

Sinopse

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

“An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II.” —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “engrossing and heartbreaking” (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and We Were the Lucky Ones.

Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.

Capítulos

  • 01 The German Girl Open

    Duração: 01min
  • 02 The German Girl Chapter1

    Duração: 19min
  • 03 The German Girl Chapter2

    Duração: 14min
  • 04 The German Girl Chapter3

    Duração: 24min
  • 05 The German Girl Chapter4

    Duração: 22min
  • 06 The German Girl Chapter5

    Duração: 19min
  • 07 The German Girl Chapter6

    Duração: 16min
  • 08 The German Girl Chapter7

    Duração: 11min
  • 09 The German Girl Chapter8

    Duração: 09min
  • 10 The German Girl Chapter9

    Duração: 21min
  • 11 The German Girl Chapter10

    Duração: 13min
  • 12 The German Girl Chapter11

    Duração: 39min
  • 13 The German Girl Chapter12

    Duração: 12min
  • 14 The German Girl Chapter13

    Duração: 24min
  • 15 The German Girl Chapter14

    Duração: 10min
  • 16 The German Girl Chapter15

    Duração: 07min
  • 17 The German Girl Chapter16

    Duração: 10min
  • 18 The German Girl Chapter17

    Duração: 12min
  • 19 The German Girl Chapter18

    Duração: 11min
  • 20 The German Girl Chapter19

    Duração: 11min
página 1 de 3