Sioux History of Its Causes and Consequences

Teste agora Após 7 dias, será cobrado valor integral. Cancele quando quiser.


The Sioux, also called the Oceti Sakowin are a North American people of Native American tribe and First Countries tribes. The contemporary Sioux are split into 2 significant groups based upon language: Dakota and Lakota; they're called together as the Ohéthi akówi ("7 Council Fires"). The term "Sioux" is an exonym stemmed from a French transliteration of the Ojibwe term "Nadouessioux," and can apply to any ethnic group or language dialect within the Great Sioux Country.

The Dakota War of 1862 came from the United States' failure to make agreement payments on time, and also an absence of food supply. The Dakota were banished from Minnesota to many bookings in Nebraska, North and South Dakota, and Canada. After 1870, the Dakota people started to return to Minnesota, developing the state's existing reserves. Before relinquishing their terrain and transferring to South Dakota in 1858, the Yankton and Yanktonai Dakota (Iháktuwa and Iháktuwana; "Village-at-the-End" and "Little village-at-the-End") resided in the Minnesota River area.

If any of this sounds fascinating to you, then go ahead and start reading or listening to the audiobook.